top of page

The flu shot - do you or don't you?

The Great Flu Shot Debate

This conversation can get ugly for some reason, we are proceeding with caution. We are approaching the topic in a friendly, respectful manner, to review what the opposing sides have to say and to hear what you have to say… remember… being kind to those that have a different opinion than you is always a valuable piece of advice :)


Every year around this time we are hit with many reminders to get the annual flu shot. The CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention) recommends those to get their flu shot by the end of October before the peak of the season, which hits in February. The vaccination takes about 2 weeks, once given, for the body to develop antibodies needed to fight the flu.

The flu (influenza) is a viral infection affecting the respiratory system - children, elderly, and those with a weakened immune systems are at the highest risk of dying from the flu. There are 4 types of flu viruses - A, B, C, and D (D primarily affects cattle so humans don’t have to worry about this one). When we think of the seasonal flu, types A and B are the ones we are concerned about. The flu virus mutates over time, leading to different/new strands - which is why yearly vaccinations are recommended to target these new circulating strands.


THE PRO: Reasons why I take the flu shot.

Herd immunity! Individuals getting the flu shot protect the general population. The more people, within a community, that get the flu shot correlates to less flu-infected people within that community. By receiving your flu shot you are reducing the risk of spreading the infection to people at risk or to people unable to get the flu shot.


The flu is the 8th leading cause of death in the U.S. and I want to protect myself and my loved ones.


The potential (cold-like symptoms) side effects of the flu shot are nothing compared to getting the flu.


The flu vaccine does NOT contain the live virus so getting the flu from the vaccine is not possible as some people claim it is.


The mercury level in a flu shot is equivalent to that in a can of tuna. Most single dose vials do not contain this preservative anymore nor do child vaccinations contain it (in the U.S.).


The flu shot is safe for those with egg allergies as the egg protein found in the shot is so low it should not trigger an allergic reaction. If you have an egg allergy let your doctor know so that you can be monitored appropriately.


There are FDA approved vaccines that do not contain egg proteins for those 18 and over.


The flu shot is the most effective way to prevent against the flu.


Many health care plans cover the cost of the flu shot so it is affordable.


Anti (flu) vaccine articles are inaccurate, not supported by science, and are that of “conspiracy theorists” and/or are “fake news.”


THE CON: Reasons why I don’t take the flu shot.

I do not want to expose myself yearly to the: Beta-propiolactone (a toxic disinfectant), formaldehyde (known carcinogen), thimerosal (mercury containing preservatives), aluminum, and to the antibiotics that are in the flu shot.


Long term studies of repeated exposure to the compounds of flu shots are controversial. I’d rather not take my chances. There are studies suggesting repeated exposure to flu shot reduces the effectiveness of it. I’d rather take natural precautions to guard myself against the flu.


Vaccines are made up to a year in advance -the targeted strains they protect against may not be the prevalent ones making us sick during the flu season of which they are given for. I can still get the flu even tho I received a flu shot, so what’s the point?


I hate needles.


When you take the flu shot you put yourself at risk in the weeks following it because you are compromising your immune system. In the time it takes (about 2 weeks) for your body to fight the virus, you are at greater risk to develop the cold/flu - hence why many people site, “getting the flu right after taking the flu shot” or “the flu shot made me sick.”


The flu shot doesn’t work for the most vulnerable populations it claims to because their immune system is too weak to begin with to appropriately respond to the shot.

The risk of flu associated death is overstated and it’s simply not as dangerous as it’s made out to be. For the vast amount of the general population the flu is not life-threatening.


I am vegan.


I am allergic to eggs and do not want to take the risk.


I have had a severe allergic reaction to the flu shot in the past (if this is true getting the flu shot is contraindicated (should not given)- no matter who you ask!

Big Pharma - Vaccines are a profit-driven business that is more about $$ and less about my health.

OUR $0.02

As two people, with access to the internet, we compiled this list of common pro and common con arguments to share both perspectives in a non-argumentative way. Ultimately, the decision is yours as it is your body. As with most things, you can focus more on certain information and less on others in order to formulate an opinion you feel most comfortable with.


Gina: As a health-care professional I administer many flu shots each year to the at risk public (my patients). It is a policy at my hospital to educate patients on the benefits of the flu shot and to offer it to each of my patients prior to discharge, which I do, ultimately each patient has the right to refuse (as they do with any medication).


As a medical professional it is strongly recommended (but not mandatory) that I get a flu shot. For the last 3 flu seasons I have declined the flu shot and opted to, instead (as per hospital policy) wear a protective (droplet) mask during my shifts when around all patients (not just those with/suspected of the flu). This is the hospital rule as it protects the patients from me (and me from my patients/visitors who may have the flu). The flu is spread via droplets and by me implementing “droplet precautions” all the time (by wearing this mask ) I am providing adequate protection to my patients.


My reasoning on this was solidified after a year working on a unit where 3 nurses got the flu, who had received flu shots. (If you do get a flu shot you only wear a droplet mask when caring directly for patients with a known or suspected flu diagnosis). I had opted out of taking it this year so I wore the mask all the time and I did not get the flu (for the record I have never gotten the flu… knock on wood).


According to the CDC’s own website the flu shots effectiveness varies from season to season, and “During years when the flu vaccine is not well matched to circulating influenza viruses, it is possible that little or no benefit from the flu vaccination may be observed.” To me, this seems that even if I get a flu shot I am better off also wearing a mask 100% of the time (at work) during flu season to protect me against all forms of circulating flu, and to protect my patients (from me). This spares me the injection and exposure to potential harmful substances year after year and gives me a greater peace of mind then the shot would.


In fairness I will say that I did receive a flu shot for the first few years of my nursing career and also did not get the flu or any notable side effects from the shot.


Suzanne: short and simple, I have never gotten a flu shot. I have never gotten the flu. I take precautions as outlined below and that appears to work to keep my immune system strong. Since what I am doing seems to be working, I will continue to not get a flu shot.


SOME ADVICE WE CAN ALL AGREE ON:

Whether you choose to get the flu shot or not here are some things we can all agree on to keep your immune system at its best. These are things we both continue to practice every day...not just flu season.


Practice good HAND HYGIENE - wash your hands! A LOT! And for longer than you think. Tip I learned in nursing school is to sing the happy birthday song to yourself while you wash your hands. Yah, for that long! With soap (obviously)! Practicing good hand hygiene is the first line of defense to guard yourself against the flu.


Cover your mouth when you cough/sneeze...and then wash your hands.


Get plenty of sleep and try to exercise at least 30 min a day.


Take a multivitamin.


Take a Vitamin D supplement! Vitamin D deficiency is very common in the U.S. and by adding a vitamin D supplement you can reduce the risk of getting the flu by half.


Eat your fruits and veggies!


Stay away from people who are sick and if you are sick - stay home from work… that’s what sick days are (really) for :)


Stay healthy and happy people!


27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
WIYW-emblem_pink.png
bottom of page