top of page

Be obsessed with becoming a person comfortable in your own skin

photo credit: www.drmaryskataylor.com

I'm going to share something kind of intimate with you all. Years ago I had major issues with food and I’ve struggled with body dysmorphia. People would look at me and say, "You’re skinny what do you have to complain about?" But the truth was, when I looked in the mirror I didn’t see anything positive, all I could see were my flaws.


This took shape in many different aspects of my life.


I was obsessed with food! Literally my every thought revolved around what I was going to eat and when. I became addicted to this mindset, it consumed me.

When I looked in the mirror I hated what I saw. I have done a lot of work on that aspect of my life and it saddens me that for so long I didn’t love the body I had and appreciate my strengths. I let my perceived flaws dictate how I saw myself and impact they way I thought about myself.


I am now on a forever-journey of self improvement with a true OBSESSION to change this mindset. I have made a conscious effort to appreciate my body for all it's good and all of it's not so good. It has taken me years to learn to love my body and of course, I still have my moments. I have days where I feel bloated or feel frustration when things don’t fit right. I have moments where I catch myself saying not-so-nice things about my body. But I am better at correcting that talk and mindset in the moment and replacing the negative with a positive - immediately.


I’ve come to appreciate that I have strong body- one that has been an athlete, a marathon runner, and one that is fueled with nutritious food. One that is truly a healthy body. I want you too to become obsessed and comfortable in your own skin, no matter what shape or size or stage in the wellness/fitness/love-yourself journey you are in. Your body is truly beautiful and capable of so much, learn to appreciate and recognize that.


I challenge you all to step in front of the mirror, look yourself deep in the eyes (maybe have some Marvin Gaye playing in the background...whatever floats your boat) and say, out loud, 3 things about your body that make you feel good, make you feel proud. Do it! Do it often. Loving yourself is more than just a catchy term or a trending hashtag. Practice what you preach!

5 views0 comments
WIYW-emblem_pink.png
bottom of page