top of page

Soul Searching at Mii Amo

Updated: Sep 8, 2018

This past week has been an amazing spiritual experience at Mii Amo Spa In Sedona, Arizona (that rhymes). To give you a little bit of the back story... the week leading up to my stay I got the flu twice, I was going through a lot with my personal life (aka boy troubles), and I was overwhelmed with my job.


The realization that my health was suffering and the fact that I needed to make some BIG life changes became abundantly clear. Sooooo I quit my job (crazy for someone like me) and I decided to finally take care of myself.


My first 24 hours at Mii Amo was incredible, the energy in Sedona is palpable. I did things I never imagined I would do. I told myself to just say YES to anything that came my way and see where that would lead me. First up was hiking to the sacred Kachina Woman. [The legend goes, the Hopi Tribes believe, that if the #KachinaWoman stands, there is hope for humanity. If she crumbles, humanity is lost.]


Mii Amo means “journey” or “one’s path” in it's Native American language, and focuses on one's “personal journey to health and wellness.” The spa caters the entire experience specifically to your needs. I did the 4 night stay and enjoyed every second of it. The first two days consisted of:


1. Chakra meditation class in the crystal grotto

2. Reiki Healing

3. Spirit of the New Moon Treatment (new moon is the time to manifest your deepest desires and wishes)- we did a Native American ritual accompanied by me writing down my intentions for the months ahead followed by a foot bath and a full body massage (that was amazing!!)

4. Reading of the Moment

5. Dosha wrap- According to Ayurveda medicine there are three doshas—Vata, Pitta, and Kapha - also known as mind-body types. Doshas are the energies that make up every individual, Dosha proportions determine one's physiological and personality traits, as well as general likes and dislikes. I discovered I am primarily a Vata, with a little a bit of Kapha. Example of what this means- Vata characteristics: Creative; Quick to learn and grasp new knowledge, but also quick to forget, Slender; Tall and a fast-walker; Tendency toward cold hands and feet (this is SO me), discomfort in cold climates (I would never survive in the arctic); Excitable, lively, fun personality; Changeable moods; High energy in short bursts; Tendency to tire easily and to overexert; Full of joy and enthusiasm when in balance; Responds to stress with fear, worry, and anxiety, especially when out of balance; Tendency to act on impulse; Often have racing, disjointed thoughts; Generally have dry skin and dry hair and don't perspire much.


A few of my favorite things at Mii Amo Spa. The LOTION! I’m obsessed with it, it smells amazing and it left my skin so silky smooth! Ok, maybe that also had to do with the treatments I received but still it was pretty awesome.


Second was the sound bath. Now I know a lot of you might be thinking what the heck is that?! (like I said I was saying YES to everything while I was there 🤗). What is a sound bath: Part meditation, part listening exercise, sound baths are healing musical performances played w/ crystal bowls and gongs. You lay on the floor in a meditative state while a performer plays the various crystal bowls which emits different frequencies. Researchers and doctors have found that it can reduce stress & anxiety, helps with sleep and can even be an additional healing tool for major diseases like cancer. Oncologist Dr. Mitchell Gaynor wrote the book “The Healing Power of Sound” and says “I use the power of music to assist in the healing of my patients every day.” Overall, It was extremely relaxing and calming, a really cool experience


On my last day at Mii Amo Spa I experienced a really amazing form of healing called “watsu therapy”- it’s performed in warm water, (around 35°C.) and combines elements of massage, joint mobilisation, shiatsu, muscle stretching, and dance. The receiver (me) is continuously supported while being floated, cradled, rocked and stretched. Initially it was very strange to put all of my weight in the arms of someone else (but as I said I was saying yes to everything 😉). However, once I gave in to the experience, I felt deeply relaxed and I entered into a meditative state. It’s supposed to help with letting go and lord knows I need more of that in my life. Other added benefits include: increased mobility and flexibility, muscle relaxation, fuller deeper breathing, reduction in anxiety and stress levels, decreased pain, improved sleep and digestion.


As we always say, a healthy body starts with a healthy mind. If any of you get an opportunity to do something like this for yourself I say dive right in with an open mind and heart. We are constantly under so much stress and subject to so much noise, I am so grateful I had this time to truly put myself first. I felt like I truly did hit my own personal reset button.


3 views0 comments
WIYW-emblem_pink.png
bottom of page